Kent Historical Society

Summer Art Enrichment Programs
Seven Hearths Tours offered
2016 GLN Art Scholarship Awarded







Greetings From Kent
An exhibition of historic postcards

The Kent Historical Society’s summer exhibit will feature historic postcards and it will be in a special location – the town-owned historic building, the Swift House.

The show showcases the local landscape as seen through the lens of postcard photographers. The exhibit opens to members and the public Sunday, June 12 at 11 a.m. The Swift House is located at 12 Maple Street in the heart of the Village Center.

There is much to be celebrated in what postcards can provide – a look back at the town of Kent over more than 100 years. Many of these images were from postcard kits that were popular for individuals to create their own cards. The Historical Society has put this exhibition together through loans from local residents and collectors, as well as its own collection. KHS Trustee Melissa Cherniske is the guest curator.

Postcard production began in the 1800s, with the first patent being approved in 1861, according to the Smithsonian Institution Archives. Postcards were a popular form of correspondence because they were quick and an easy way to communicate. The Golden Age of Postcards was from 1907 to 1915, according to the Smithsonian.

This special exhibit will feature enlarged images of postcards. There will also be a number of reproduction postcards available for purchase.

The show will be open on Sundays from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. beginning June 12 and continuing through the end of July.  It will take place in the historic, town-owned Swift House at the corner of Maple Street and Swift Lane. Admission is free to members and there is a suggested donation for non-members.

For more information, email the Society or call 860-927-4587.